Playground Love

Forgetting the songs troubling name, the title track to Sofia Coppola’s film The Virgin Suicides is dreamy and intoxicatingly smooth. While most people got into Air through Moon Safari I discovered them in high school as I went through a massive Coppola phase wherein I must have watched Lost in Translation hundreds of times and to this day it remains one on my favourite films.

Regardless, even through I would argue that this song signifies one of Air’s less well known hits due to its commercial release being restricted to The Virgins Suicides soundtrack. I would still maintain that this is my favourite Air song just for how relaxing and soulful it is, from the vocals to the synth-like strings floating in the background. It is almost as the title would suggest very reminiscent of high school romance. This track is definitely one to chill too and you have to love the longing in that saxophone solo.

And yes I know it was a book before it was a film. And I will get round to reading it one day.

By the by as anyone who reads these posts might have noticed it’s getting a little hard to post daily as I’m just about to start a new job. So I kind of as you would expect am having to focus on that. However fret not I’ll still be posting new music for you to enjoy just not as regularly. At least for the time being anyway.

Anyway drop me a comment letting me know what you think of the track and recommend me some tunes you think I might like. Peace audiophiles.

Leave a comment